Full Circle New Zealand

Full circle.

I’ve always loved finding connections of sorts throughout different life experiences, and especially while traveling over the years. Meeting up with a friend in a new country, happening to do something on an anniversary date of a past event, revisiting a country after a period of time and looking back at how far I’ve come since.

This trip was that to the max. New Zealand was my first big solo trip that I took. I arrived here with the excitement of a new traveler (the sort of excitement that I haven’t had in a very long time) in 2015 and left with big goals and dreams. And then I chased and accomplished every. single. one. of them. It only made sense that this is where I wrapped up this final full-time travels chapter of my life.

Full circle. I met Julia at a bus stop in Rotorua and within minutes, we had decided to travel together through New Zealand over the following five weeks. We have since met up for adventures in Canada, Mexico, Chilean Patagonia, Buenos Aires… the most full circle thing possible was that she would come to New Zealand with me on this trip, and during a catch-up phone call back in August (where I had to sneak out of my quiet hostel dorm room at 6am and take it in a park), I was talking about this trip and ending here, and she said, “Wait, full circle, I’ll come with you!”. And here we are.

Full circle. Mueller Hut was by and far my favorite experience from New Zealand in 2015. It has since held such a special place in my heart, I had to come back. Julia couldn’t make this trip the first time, so we prioritized it this go around. It was every bit as magical as I remember it, and was the perfect way to end this visit.

Seven years after traveling here for the first time. Five years of traveling full-time. I am so ready to go home, which is something that I never thought I would ever say last time I was here, because all I wanted then was to keep going and see the world. I have seen the world now. And while there is always more, I am fully and undoubtedly ready to go home, maybe for the first time ever. Full circle.

Leave a comment